My Body is a Temple

I heard through the Twitter feed about Michelle from Myers Cross Training selling some cute tanks, so I had to buy some! They recently came in the mail, and I love them.
IMG_0564
IMG_0565
These tanks offer a great opportunity to witness to others at the gym or when I’m walking Indy outside. But they got me thinking about my motive behind eating well and exercising.
I feel like my main motivation to eat well and exercise lately has been merely to achieve a certain number on the scale or achieve a certain look in the mirror. No wonder I’ve been so frustrated and fruitless! This is not a godly goal. Trying to be thin only for appearance’s sake will only reap frustration because I was never created to find joy in my reflection in the mirror.
Instead, my mail goal should be to “be conformed to the image of [God’s] Son” for His glory (Romans 8:29).
This is not to say I should not care at all about my body or appearance. It goes back to my motivation behind caring for my body. As the gray shirt above says, “Do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20).
There are two reasons I should care for my body:
1. It is the creation of God
2. He has bought my body
I have a responsibility to maintain the best health I can by making healthy eating choices and exercising regularly. Viewed in the light of Scripture, I am no longer pursuing a shallow, vain goal, but am caring for my body because I love the Lord, the Giver of life, and want to honor Him.
Tonight, I came home and walked Indy down the block to see two of my neighbors out walking their dogs, so we ended up walking to a nearby elementary school together, and then we made plans to do it again tomorrow!
I then came home and made some black bean enchiladas – no recipe, I just threw it together! I started with some onions and red pepper, added some frozen corn, black beans and chopped fresh tomato, and some leftover enchilada sauce. I spooned the mixture onto some corn tortillas, added a little cheese and fresh cilantro from my garden! Delish! I then had a messy kitchen to clean up, but oh well!
Happy Monday!

Black bean enchiladas!

Black bean enchiladas!


Indy and his new tiger

Indy and his new tiger

Leave a comment