Wednesday Eats – A Juice Cleanse

It is Wednesday, time for another What I Ate Wednesday post.

I thought I would focus on what I ate Monday because I did a 1-day Suja juice cleanse. I had heard about different juice cleanses for awhile now, including BluePrint, Pressed Juicery, The Ripe Stuff and Suja Juice. You can do 1, 3, or 5 day cleanses with most of these companies. I always held off because of the price, but when I found out my local Whole Foods store sold Suja Juice, I thought about giving it a try. Though the juices are still pricey, I wouldn’t have to pay exorbitant shipping fees.

Why do a juice cleanse? My main reason for wanting to try it was not for some quick weight loss or anything like that, but to do exactly what it says: cleanse my body. I have adopted some unhealthy habits of late, eating more processed foods, snacking late at night and indulging a little too much in my favorite cookies. It’s been taking its toll – I haven’t been sleeping as well which robs me of my energy. So I wanted to give a 1-day juice cleanse a try in the hopes that it would give my body a break from heavy digestion and fill my body with powerful nutrients.

Why I didn't think to take a picture with the bottles full, I don't know.

Why I didn’t think to take a picture with the bottles full, I don’t know.

Here is what I “ate”:

Juice #1: Glow – apples, celery, cucumber, spinach, collard greens, kale, & mint. This one had the most greens in it & I could taste the celery, which I’m not a big fan of. But since I have juiced before, I am somewhat used to it and thought it was okay.

Juice #2:  Fuel – carrots, apple, orange, pineapple, lemon, turmeric. I was nervous about this one because of the amount of carrots in it. I have memories of choking down fresh carrot apple juice when I was younger. But I was pleasantly surprised. The pineapple & lemon added a brightness to it & I enjoyed it. I poured it over ice in my Tupperware tumbler so no one at work would wonder what on earth I was drinking.

Juice #3: Purify – carrots, apple, celery, cucumber, beet & lemon. This one was one of my least favorites. I think anytime a juice has celery in it, it brings my enjoyment factor down a bit. It took me longer to drink this one.

Juice #4: Fiji – apples, celery, cucumber, spinach, collard greens, kale, lemon & ginger. Again, this one was okay. I did notice at this point in the day (3:00), I felt more alert & in a better mood than I usually am at this time of day.

Juice #5: Green Supreme – apples, kale & lemon. Yummy! Very sweet & refreshing. But it took me a long time to drink this one as well. I finished it just in time to drink the next (& final) one!

photo(6)

juice #6: Vanilla Cloud – coconut, honey, almonds, acerola cherry, cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, & camu camu. Clearly different from the others, this was dessert! I was thrown off by the aftertaste at first, but I got used to it.

photo(5)

So has my 1-day cleanse proven effective? Did it make any difference? I believe it did. Yesterday and today I have eaten “clean,” which basically means I have not eaten any processed foods or added sugar. I’ve kept my evening meals light, which has improved my sleep immensely. I hope to keep it up and update you on what I’m eating next week! Overall, I recommend it, and I’m thinking of buying a few green drinks to have on hand.

Leave a comment