What I’m Reading

I feel like I’m getting back to where I was when I was younger, reading more books. Last year, I read 39 books – not bad (about 3 books a month), but I know I can do far better. My goal is to at least beat that number, but I’d like to reach 48 books (4 a month) before 2014. Right now, I’m at 11, and March is not over yet! I still have time to get one more book in this month.

Here’s what I’ve read recently:

dressmaker

I’ve been on a Titanic kick lately. I went to my public library and found some videos and a couple of fiction books that take place on or during the Titanic’s sinking. This particular book is about a maid who gets a job with Madame Lucille Duff Gordon, the famous fashion designer. She and her husband, Lord Cosmo Duff Gordon were the ones in the lifeboat that only had twelve people, and they are famed for having paid the sailors not to go back and rescue people from the sinking Titanic. While the story starts on the Titanic, it mainly takes place after the sinking, in New York. There are senate hearings to determine what happened to the “unsinkable ship” and Tess vacillates between working for Lucille and wanting to be a designer herself.

violetsofmarch

Violets of March was recommended by Julie of PBFingers, so I decided to give it a read. Right away, I found myself wanting to visit Bainbridge Island. The main character, Emily, goes to Bainbride Island to visit her great-aunt Bee in the wake of a divorce. She discovers a diary and gets caught up in the history and mystery of the diary’s story while experiencing a new love story of her own.

physcik

This book has been on my list for awhile. I’ve only read the first chapter so far, but it switches from present day, where Connie is working on her doctoral dissertation, and the Salem witch trials of 1690. Apparently, when Connie visits her grandmother’s abandoned home in Salem, she discovers she is somehow tied to Salem’s dark past. She uncovers a yellowed piece of parchment with a name on it: Deliverance Dane. I’ll update you once I’ve finished it.

Leave a comment